The School Board...

..... met at the ETHOS Science Center.

...... heard Chief Financial Officer, Kevin Scott, recite the Elkhart Promise.

-welcomed Superintendent's Student Advisory Council (SSAC) representatives from both high schools: Shelby Buss, a junior from Memorial High School (MHS) and Jayson Zelaya, a junior from Central High School (CHS). Ms. Buss provided updates on the following activities: Prom will be at the Crystal Ballroom this year with a buffet included in the cost; SSAC will be hosting 8th graders from North Side and West Side for a showcase on May 21st and is working on a literacy project at Woodland; Spring sports are underway and the first ever Elkhart lacrosse team played last week; the robotics team is headed to state for the very first time; and student government has been helping with clean up of flood damaged homes, they will also be going on a field trip to Chicago soon. Mr. Zelaya reported the BlazeLine was unable to participate in the State preliminary competition due to weather. The BlazeLine will give a community performance at Central tomorrow night. SSAC will be hosting students from Pierre Moran and North Side at BlazerFest on the 29th. Spring sports have begun; the National Honor Society held a very successful blood drive last Friday; and the Robotics team is going to State.
-accepted with appreciation the following donations made to Elkhart Community Schools (ECS): in-kind donation from AlphaGraphics including design/layout time for the Culture Series: Different Together book with written and artwork contributions from students and community members. (valued at \$315); and three donations of gift cards to Beardsley Elementary to assist families affected by the recent floods: \$500 from First Presbyterian Church; \$1,000 from the Elks Club, and \$100 from Walmart.
-heard Rod Roberson, director of co-curricular programming, introduce the following groups of students being recognized.
-Elizabeth Sokolowski, art teacher at Central, introduced Karen Harter and Sarah Bailey, whose works are currently on display at the Midwest Museum of Art. Ms. Harter and Ms. Bailey along with Jose Cortez were speakers at a presentation at the museum last Thursday.
-John Taylor, science teacher at Memorial, introduced Regional Science Fair winners Memorial students: Aaron Russell, Abdessamed Boussaha, Alek Wujcikowski, Duncan Learman, Sydney Grahovac, and Yoshio Ascencio. Mr. Roberson introduced and congratulated the following Elkhart Science Fair and Regional Science Fair winners: Riverview student, Brennon Whickcar; Eastwood students: Rylee Herron and Alex Germain; Pinewood students: Chloe Conley, Jack Watson, Myles Sanford, Aangee Mehta, Kaitlynn Ramirez-Campbell, Lillian Lutes, Jack Gorski, and Chris Christensen.

.....approved the purchase of 20 new busses through the State Bid List purchasing program.

-approved an extra-curricular purchase of tickets to the Willis Tower Skydeck in Chicago for MHS orchestra students during their trip to hear the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in the amount of \$636.
- approved proposed school fundraisers in accordance with Board policy. The funds raised through the listed activities are deposited into each school's extra-curricular fund.
-heard the monthly insurance update from Mr. Scott. Mr. Scott stated it had been an unusually good month and ahead of last year.
- approved proposed revisions to Board Policy 5340.01 Student Concussions and Sudden Cardiac Arrest, as initially presented at the March 13th regular meeting.
- approved proposed revisions to Board Policy 8455 Coach Training, as initially presented at the March 13th regular meeting.
- approved submission of a 2018 CTE Summer Expansion Grant from the Indiana Department of Education for \$35,000 from the Elkhart Area Career Center (EACC).
- approved a consent agreement regarding unpaid time for a certified staff member.
- approved an agreement regarding compensation benefits for a certified staff member.
- confirmed the administrative appointment of Jason Inman, director of technology, effective April 16, 2018.
- confirmed the retirement of the following three (3) certified staff members at the end of the 2017-2018 school year: Stephen Greenlee, physical education at West Side, with 22 years of service; Lynda Ramsey, special education at North Side, with 29 years of service; and William Ramsey, social studies at North Side, with 34 years of service.
- approved professional leave for certified staff member Susan Fritschi, grades 1 and 2 at Feeser.
- approved parental leave for the following three (3) certified staff members: Kaleigh Estrup, grade 1 at Riverview; Lisa Haeck, special education at Roosevelt; and Jamie Haradine, grade 4 at Pinewood.
- approved personal leave for the following three (3) certified staff members: Julie DeWitt, kindergarten at Pinewood; Emma Dugger, kindergarten at Pinewood, and Douglas Hunnings, grade 4 at Riverview.
- approved medical leave for certified staff member Amy Miller, special education at Roosevelt.
- approved change to maternity leave for certified staff member, Kaitlin Putt, speech pathologist.

- confirmed the resignation of the following three (3) certified staff members: Emily Guzman, mathematics at Central; Scott McAninch, world language at Central; and Sarah Miller, language arts at North Side.
- approved regular employment for the following six (6) classified employees who have successfully completed their probationary period: Jason Billings, tech support I at Tech Services; Sierra Coulahan, paraprofessional at Daly; Laurie Crawford, secretary at Memorial; Timothy Gallagher II, bus driver at Transportation; Natasha Gawthrop, paraprofessional at Beck; and Denise Kulp secretary at Memorial.
- confirmed the resignation of the following six (6) classified employees: Dionne Acker, food service at Memorial; Kimberly Allen, bus driver at Transportation; Miranda Doolittle, food service at Central; Jerry Fuller, misc. food truck driver at Commissary; Clarence Gregg, paraprofessional at EACC; and Jennifer Perrin, misc. route driver coordinator at Transportation.
- confirmed the retirement of the following three (3) classified employees: Cherie Books, paraprofessional at Memorial; Deborah Shoup, supervisor of accounting audits/inventory; and Sheryl Torok, paraprofessional at Daly.
- approved leave for the following two (2) classified employees: Cristal Chanon, paraprofessional at Monger; and Ana Rosa Garcia, bus driver at Transportation.
- approved medical leave for classified employee, Cordelia Brown, food service at Central.
- approved the termination of a classified employee in accordance with Board Policy 3139.01s, a, b, c, d, e.
- heard from audience member, Albert White, regarding the Elkhart BUCKS (Believe Unite Character – Knowledge – Success). Mr. White, with the support of individuals and other agencies, has created a youth basketball program. In order to participate, each student must carry a C average or receive tutoring. The program has grown to 21 children since its inception in November. Mr. White introduced the four players he brought to the meeting with him.